SERCIA is proud to award on an annual basis a grant to help young members publish the book version of their PhD dissertation. The dissertation must be written in English or French and must deal with English-language cinema. The dissertation must have been defended in 2021, and the candidate must be a SERCIA member when submitting her/his application. Applications are vetted by a committee of five members, elected by the general assembly for a two-year term. They must be sent as electronic documents to all five members of the committee by May 15, 2022, and must include a 10-page book proposal in English (including a presentation of the book, target audience and chapter-by-chapter breakdown) and the minutes of the PhD defense (in English or in French); letters of recommendation (in English) are also welcome. The winner(s) will be announced at the General Meeting in September 2022.

The members of the committee elected at the General Assembly in September 2019 are:

Marimar Azcona, Universidad de Zaragoza

Jean-François Baillon, Université Bordeaux Montaigne

Emmanuelle Delanoë-Brun, Université Paris Diderot

Nolwenn Mingant, Université de Nantes

Yann Roblou, Université de Valenciennes

Previous members include Sarah Hatchuel (Université Paul Valéry Montpellier 3), Anne-Marie Paquet-Deyris (Université Paris Ouest Nanterre) and Melvyn Stokes (University College London).

Past winners

2020: Patrick Adamson for his PhD, “‘Americanism in Action’: The 1920s Epic Western and Hollywood Historical Cinema”, Université St Andrews;

2020: Émilie Herbert for her PhD, “Le Cinéma des Réalisatrices Black-British : entre Invisibilité et Stratégies de Résistance,” University de Liège, and Vincent Jaunas for his PhD, “La Subjectivité au prisme de la réflexivité dans l’œuvre de Stanley Kubrick,” Université Bordeaux Montaigne;

2019: Elsa Colombani for her PhD, “Contes gothiques, Tim Burton : de Vincent à Mrs. Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children,” University Paris Ouest Nanterre, and Pablo Gómez for his PhD, “A Better World? Cosmopolitan Struggles in Twenty-First Century Science-Fiction Cinema,” Universidad de Zaragoza;

2018: Julia Echeverría for her PhD, “The Viral Screen: Viruses, Zombies, and Infectious Diseases in Post-Millenial Films,” Universidad de Zaragoza;

2017: Hervé Mayer for his PhD, “Guerre sauvage et empire de la liberté : prolongements du myth de la frontière dans le cinéma américain post-western” (Savage War and the Empire of Freedom: Continuations of the Myth of the Frontier in Post-western American Cinema), Université Paris Ouest Nanterre. Published in 2021 as Guerre sauvage & empire de la libérté. Clermont-Ferrand: Presses Universitaires Blaise Pascal, 2021. ISBN 978-2-84516-962-3